The Shining: Kubrick’s unheimliche manoeuvre

by Jules Evans

‘How do you…fill your days?’
My editor was looking at me with a hint of concern, in a cafe on Portland Street. She was worried I was losing my edge. It had been almost a year since my first book had come out, and still I hadn’t started working on another. Well, I thought to myself, Kubrick didn’t rush his projects. Twelve years between his penultimate and final movie. Besides, how could I explain to her or anyone else that I’d spent the last four days somewhere else entirely, perhaps in another dimension, also known as the Overlook Hotel.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. It all started on Tuesday…

reblogged from full version at http://emotionsblog.history.qmul.ac.uk/?p=2343#comment-23420

Leave a Reply

